The Wellington Monument is located atop the Slieveardagh Hills in the small village of Grange, Co.Tipperary. It was built in 1817 to commemorate the Duke of Wellington's victory over Napolean at the Battle of Waterloo. Over time the native forests grew up around the monument, obscuring it from view, and it became forgotten until the 1990's when it was rediscovered during a tree felling operation by Coiltte.
The local Slieveardagh Rural Development Comittee commissioned this project in an effort to provide a use for the old folly.
An elegant modern steel spiral staircase stands next to the old monument, allowing access to the top, and affords stunning views of Kilcooley Abbey and West toward the Devil's Bit.
Work carried out while employed at Howley Hayes.